Amanda’s HeadSpace
Political Space
Hear Me Out 2 - Ich kann es nicht glauben
2
0:00
-9:57

Hear Me Out 2 - Ich kann es nicht glauben

Lessons from History…
2

Ok, America, hear me out…

I’m not an academic or a scholar, I’m just a curious sort who likes to think about things…

Back in the early 90s, I happened to be left unattended in a German archive, I did a bit of snooping and found loads of diaries. I was able to answer the question that had baffled me throughout my German history studies,

HOW DID HITLER HAPPEN?

Thank you for reading Amanda’s HeadSpace. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

How did a group of people turn their entire democracy over to Hitler? Because I never like to make assumptions as to what people are thinking, I read the diaries, they told me what people were thinking. More specifically, their unedited internal monologues.

I’m going to tell you what I learned from reading first hand accounts (diaries) of average people and Newspapers from 1930s & 1940s Germany.

Fascism 101 - the German Model

Amanda’s HeadSpace is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Amanda’s HeadSpace
Political Space
This section contains two podcast strands:
Hear me out… - the space where I muse/rant/complain/think out loud/put the world to rights
Questions from a Brit - the space where I ask my political questions in the hope that someone will give me answers. Tbf my biggest questions are about American politics - there’s so much that doesn’t make sense.